Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Is this site legit?
ieXbeta Board > Tech > Software Corner
im_to_hyper
An organization for which my stepmother does volunteer work recently ordered a copy of Access 2003 from This Site - Westgate Media. The CD looks to me to be a bit.... off kilter in terms of looks in relation to what the Office 2003 CD looks like. It is supposedly "OEM" and includes a product key... but the key is printed on a red label rather than the traditional MS yellow.

I am concerned that this could be prirated software and I told her not to install it or even open the litte package it came it (which looks very poorly shrinkwrapped)... any opinions about the site would be appreciated.

Sorry... I don't have a scanner with which to import a picture... sorry sad.gif
Overlord_Yogi
The best way to tell for sure is to go to http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/default.mspx, and check with MS directly. I would, in this case, as I think your right: this looks kind of fishy.
stevenh
I think it isn't, look at this:

QUOTE
Nero 6 Ultra
by Microsoft


Correct me if i am wrong, but i thought Nero 6 was from ahead smile.gif
Fod
could have been a genuine mistake; you see those all the time.
Foxconn
QUOTE(im_to_hyper @ Jun 16 2005, 01:46)
An organization for which my stepmother does volunteer work recently ordered a copy of Access 2003 from This Site - Westgate Media. The CD looks to me to be a bit.... off kilter in terms of looks in relation to what the Office 2003 CD looks like. It is supposedly "OEM" and includes a product key... but the key is printed on a red label rather than the traditional MS yellow.

I am concerned that this could be prirated software and I told her not to install it or even open the litte package it came it (which looks very poorly shrinkwrapped)... any opinions about the site would be appreciated.

Sorry... I don't have a scanner with which to import a picture... sorry sad.gif
*


It's more than likely pirated. I'd report the place if I were you.

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/howtote...884af30876.mspx
Renames
Product Type: OEM CD w/product key


<--- Even if the product is legit. This is still illegal.

OEM Software must be shiped with the required hardware.

So yea this is bad news from the start ..

sorry

Luke
bd55
If I remember correctly MS will change the product for a legit version if you show where you got the bad one from.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.